About the European Union

The European Union (EU) is an economic and political union of 27 Member States. Together, they have built a zone of stability, democracy and sustainable development whilst maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance and individual freedoms. With the help of over 140 diplomatic representations around the world, the EU cooperates closely with its Member States to promote the values and interests of the EU and establish networks and partnerships, promoting multilateral-based solutions to common challenges. The EU is the largest trade block in the world, as well as the world's main source and the top global destination of foreign direct investment.

In 2012, the EU was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for advancing the causes of peace, reconciliation, democracy and human rights.

The 27 EU Member States are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

About the European Union Delegation to Singapore

Set up in December 2002, the EU Delegation to Singapore formally opened on 30 June, 2004. Since then, the EU’s diplomatic representation has worked to promote closer ties between the EU and Singapore. In close coordination with the diplomatic missions of the EU Member States, the Delegation ensures consistency and effectiveness of the EU’s external action in Singapore.

With 27 countries, nearly 450 million people and the largest GDP in the world, the EU is of increasing importance to Singapore, especially since the entry into force of the EU-Singapore Free Trade Agreement (EUSFTA). The Delegation covers a range of issues such as trade, foreign policy, climate change, environment, transport, industrial policy, research, science, technology as well as education projects such as the Study In Europe higher education fair and EU at Your School. On the cultural front, the Delegation presents Studio Residencies for Southeast Asian Artists in the European Union - SEA AiR (in partnership with NTU’s Centre for Contemporary Art Singapore) and the annual European Film Festival (EUFF), which takes place this year from May 16th - 31st at The Projector.

On 1st February 2023, the EU-Singapore Digital Partnership was signed in Brussels. This Partnership expands the robust EU-Singapore relationship into the digital realm, which has a transformative potential for the future of our economies. The Digital Partnership builds on long-standing cooperation between the EU and Singapore on trade, research and technology. It will also serve as a strategic pathfinder for closer region-to-region digital connectivity. On the same occasion, Digital Trade Principles, a key deliverable of the Digital Partnership, were signed as well. The Principles seek to facilitate the free flow of goods and services in the digital economy, while upholding privacy.

Follow the EU Ambassador to Singapore Iwona Piórko on Twitter: @IwonaPiorkoEU

Connect with us: Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Linkedin

Web: www.europe.sg

Service for Foreign Policy Instruments (FPI)

The European Film Festival 2023 (EUFF) is supported by the Service for Foreign Policy Instruments (FPI). FPI puts EU foreign policy into actions, builds alliances, and leverages the EU’s partnerships around the world. In Southeast Asia, the FPI regional team works with EU Delegations’ to advance people to people exchanges, build mutual understanding, based on European key principles and sustainable policies.


Link: Service for Foreign Policy Instruments (FPI)